“A whitewash cooked up behind closed doors.”

This post looks at three public interest issues: a whitewashed grievance; the use of counselling (by a mental health charity) for staff that don’t need it; and whether it is right or wrong to lie about your colleagues.

I worked at the mental health charity Hafal (www.hafal.org) from September 2008 – May 2015. I worked hard for service users and carers and raised the profile of Hafal’s communications department.

Unfortunately my efforts were not always appreciated by Hafal’s Head of Communications, Matthew Pearce. Matthew often made my work-life difficult both when I worked in his department and when I left it. For example:

  • He recommended I get the sack when there were no issues with my work;
  • He lied to the Chief Executive about me applying for a job I never knew existed when my contract was about to expire;
  • He sent me an e-mail encouraging me to apply for work at another organisation;
  • I was even warned in writing by a former colleague not to leave my mobile phone unattended on my desk in the office I shared with Matthew and his assistant, Jacki Chard. The same colleague also confirmed in writing that Matthew undermined my work.

However despite expressing these and other concerns with my Line Manager, Sharon Jones, nothing was done to stop Matthew’s poor behaviour.

So when he complained unfairly about my work yet again, in August 2014, I felt compelled to put my concerns in writing. I sent an e-mail to Sharon and to then Hafal Deputy Chief Executive, Alun Thomas, about Matthew’s antics. Here’s an edited version of the e-mail.

Hello Alun

I just wanted to clarify what happened with the case study for the journal as I always feel a little uneasy when Matt’s on the warpath behind my back…

The thing I’ve learnt about Matt is he likes to have a pop at my work. At various times I believe he’s recommended I get the sack; trashed my work ethic; lied to Bill about me applying for jobs and, to top it all, one weekend last April, he sent an unsolicited e-mail to my personal account encouraging me to apply for a broadcasting job at Swansea Sound.

I think it’s fair to say Matthew is not a fan of mine!!! Anyway, I’ll keep on doing my best for him although I have understandably become rather wary of his behaviour at times. Sorry to have to write this but I’ve learnt I’ve got to keep the record straight with Matthew.

Alun’s e-mail reply (dated August 26th) which was sent to Sharon and myself was as follows:

Thanks John – points understood and as I said I knew you had a number of very helpful case studies that we used in recent bids.

So Alun, like Sharon, knew what was going on but did nothing.

I soldiered on but in February 2015 Matthew was at it again. He claimed he was “rocked” by my assertion that he should treat Hafal clients equally whether they are “nice or otherwise”.

Sharon called me into her office to talk about this. I expressed amazement that Matthew could be offended by my words then, to my dismay, Sharon offered me counselling to cope with his behaviour.

At the time I thought the offer of counselling was totally inappropriate though well-intentioned. However, I have since learned that I am not the only Hafal employee who has wrongly been offered talking therapy when they don’t need it.

These are the words of one of my former colleagues: “After a grievance brought by myself, Hafal senior management offered me counselling. This action left me feeling isolated, alone and with nobody to turn to. I have no doubt the offer of counselling was deliberately done to make out I had a mental health issue. I now know that offering counselling is standard practice for anyone that brings important concerns to light.”

This issue is clearly in the public interest. Health and Social Services Minister Mark Drakeford AM has been informed and has noted what’s been going on.

I informed Sharon that the best type of counselling I could receive was if Matthew apologised in writing for his poor conduct and then stopped his unfair behaviour. I wasn’t given this assurance so I raised a grievance. I felt I had no alternative. I thought: “I have to stand up for myself and stop this.” My family agreed.

At this point Sharon, who had been supportive, did a U-turn. Despite criticising Matthew for years she backed him throughout the grievance. I felt betrayed, isolated and shocked by her disloyalty.

The subsequent grievance was a farce. It was described by my National Union of Journalists’ representative, one of the best journalists in Wales, as “a whitewash cooked up behind closed doors.”

During the grievance crucial evidence was ignored. There were other evasions, too. For example Alun claimed my words to Matthew about treating all clients equally was “near the knuckle” – an extraordinary statement given that Hafal means “equal” in English.

Meanwhile Matthew, who had been so vocal about my work, suddenly became silent: when I asked him to explain his conduct in writing – a fair request – he refused. I think that says a lot.

Another extraordinary aspect of the grievance was Sharon’s view on lying. Nobody doubts that Matthew lied to the former Chief Executive, Bill Walden-Jones MBE about my employment prospects; it’s on the record. Sharon supported me at the time and used very colourful language to describe Matthew.

However during the grievance Sharon had a different take on matters. She informed me in writing that Matthew’s lie had “no bearing or effect on your position within the organisation”. He was not disciplined for his deceit.

I have asked Alun, Sharon and Hafal Chair of Trustees Elin Jones, a simple question in writing this year: is it right or wrong for staff to lie about their colleagues? They have all refused to comment. Elin actually claimed this moral matter was beyond her remit. So let me ask again: Alun, Sharon, Elin: why is lying amongst staff at Hafal acceptable?

None of the complaints I raised in the grievance were supported.

In my next blog post I will explain why I left Hafal shortly after the grievance.

If you would like to share your public interest concerns about Hafal in confidence please e-mail me at: john.gilheaney@btinternet.com

 

 

2 thoughts on ““A whitewash cooked up behind closed doors.”

    1. Thank you for getting in touch and apologies for the delay in replying; I’m new to WordPress. It has been a hard time. Unfortunately I’m not the only person who has had a bad experience at Hafal. It shouldn’t be so. I hope this blog helps people going through a hard time at work. I believe case studies give shape and insight in to experiences. It’s good to share. Diolch.

      Like

Leave a comment